A user's account or device can be automatically blocked by our system if it violates any of our terms and conditions, which all users accept by signing up for a Careem account.
Following are the most common reasons for an account to be blocked:
High cancellation ratio
When booking a ride, a user has the option to cancel the ride. If a cancellation occurs too often, the system will display a warning. If this is continued, the account will be blocked. Constant canceling causes a lot of confusion, and wasted time.
Cross country referral
In order to limit fraudulent activity, cross-country referrals are not permitted.
Unpaid negative balance in the Careem PAY wallet
If a ride was not paid in full or was not paid, the account would have a negative balance that is owed. An account would be temporarily blocked until this amount is settled.
Declined credit card payments that lead to a negative balance have to be settled within 4 days. Failure to do this may lead to a blocked account.
Multiple user accounts being used on the same mobile device
In order to limit fraudulent activity, every device is allowed to have a limited amount of accounts logged in. Once this amount is exceeded, it gets permanently blocked.
Misuse of Careem PAY credit
To limit fraudulent activity, Careem PAY credit is only valid in the country where the credit was acquired.
Misuse of referral credit
Credits earned through referrals may not be used to purchase a Careem Package.